esports

Esports

esports Overview

Wildeboer Dellelce is one of the first Canadian law firms to launch a practice focused on the esports industry.

Our esports Practice Group provides advice in connection with a full range of corporate, commercial, securities and tax law matters, including:

  • Regulatory and compliance issues
  • Governance and corporate finance matters
  • Commercial agreements and franchising arrangements
  • Engaging with various federal and provincial regulatory agencies
  • Gaming legislation
  • Consumer protection legislation
  • Data governance, cybersecurity and privacy matters

The firm currently acts for some of Canada’s most promising, emerging esports companies and related platforms. 

In addition to providing direct legal advice, we are frequently called upon to project-manage or quarterback the various legal needs of our clients in high-growth sectors such as esports due to their global nature and intersection with various jurisdictions and areas of law.

Esports Recent Activity

ESPORTS & EGAMING Breakfast and Networking Event – Wildeboer Dellelce partners with Digital Finance Institute to host a panel event on August 13, 2019 as part of Canada FinTech Week. Led by Partner, Geoffrey Cher, the event provides a high-level overview on the current esports boom and its landscape in Canada and Worldwide.

Esports Legal Issues – Five Things You Should Know – legal update written by Wildeboer Dellelce lawyers on the five primary legal issues in the esports industry.


CONTACT

For more information on how we can assist you in this sector or to speak with us regarding any of your business law needs, please contact:

Perry Dellelce at perry@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 5899

Geoffrey Cher at gcher@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4793

Michael Rennie at mrennie@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4781

Ryan Trimble at rtrimble@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4790

Amir Torabi at atorabi@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4765

Joel Fraser at jfraser@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 2932

Tax: Katy Pitch at kpitch@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4787

Tax: Marija Tasevska at mtasevska@wildlaw.ca or 416 361 4782